Challenging beginnings

20 Jul

How easy we are sidetracked by the mundane petty events of each day.

I still believe that you make your own reality and that you can achieve anything you set out to do, which you strive for with determination.  But it has been one of those phases where the distractions of everyday things make persistence hard to maintain.

There is the initial motivation which carries it’s own momentum.  It is truly easy to believe in possibility then.  To believe in your own capacity to create, persevere, and achieve your goals.

Then the momentum wears itself down, you procrastinate or excuse yourself just for one day.  And suddenly life throws its distractions at you.

Distractions, insignificant dramas that suck you into their segment of time.  Suddenly you are just your day to day moments and all that inner glow is drowned out in just making it through another hour and the next one and another day…  Make it through all the scenes just to get closer to not being in them anymore, closer to the mystery day where it will all be better and you will be all activity and satisfaction.

Every week that mystery day on the horizon, is for me ‘The Weekend’.  Every day, to convince me to get out of bed I remind myself it is one day closer to the weekend.  Aaah, the weekend, when I can wake up the morning without alarm, and get up for myself and My Life.

I am always going to do so many things then… I tell myself this each day of the week.  Of course then it is the weekend, and you can do whatever you like then, it’s your Day Off.  So if you want to do nothing, that’s what you do.  Now, I realise this makes me sound lazy, and I wish I truly was but unfortunately that’s not reality.  I just put my energies into things which are not of true importance to my heart and soul.

I work.  For someone else.  I work at work, I work at home, I work in transit.  I think about work, sometimes dream about work.  I worry about work, I am genuinely concerned about work related things.  I am distracted by work.  And it is not of true significance to My Life.

So here I sit.  Tired, distracted, emotionally drained and feeling like I am not achieving.

And, then he reminds me..  I have love!  How fortunate I am.  What more purpose do you need in life than love?  Love, learning and whatever else it takes to support both.  Everything is better when you see it from a life with love.

So, inspiration, there you are!  Step by step, persistence, perspective, hope.

All I need is a good night (or two) of sleep, and the occasional reminder of what life is all about.  Start filling the jar of life with the big rocks, and the rest will fall in between the spaces.

Leave a Reply

