NaNo beginnings

3 Nov

So NaNoWriMo 2011 http://www.nanowrimo.org/ has officially begun.

All those hours spent daydreaming with a purpose has led to these days working to manifest the story.  There is an extra energy in the air and a sense of ‘needing’ to achieve your goal, there is also a sense that you may have been mad to commit to this when there’s, you know, life.

My first moment of NaNo madness came in my dreams after day one…  By the end of Day One I had written chapter one and 2,368 words; my imagination was spinning with where the story would go next and in this mind I fell asleep.  In my nightmare the words I had written went through the ‘official’ count and came back with only 892 words because all the words with three letters or less were discounted…

There are an awful lot of words with three letters or less…

And now the first day excitement is wearing down and it is time for the real test: can I change my habits for the month and sustain a daily writing regime?  I confess my daily word count is dipping after some long draining days at work… still 27 days to go and 4 weekends to make up some ground.

Surely this is where the ‘persistence’ mentality must kick in… https://emilyelst.wordpress.com/2011/08/24/living-in-flux/    ‘Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence…’

There are 27 more days of possibility to go.

If I truly believe I can do anything then I can surely do this!  I wish my fellow NaNoWriMos out there all the best of luck for their storytelling and their sanity in this month.

 

2 Responses to “NaNo beginnings”

  1. Nina November 4, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    You can do it. That word count is amazing for a first day. Remember it’s about the writing and the journey. Try to avoid the word count staring in front of you and focus on plots, characters and everything in between.

    • emilyelst November 4, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Thanks Nina! That is excellent advice 🙂

Leave a Reply

