NaNo wind down

24 Nov

The first of the plums are starting to blush with ripeness, and summer is just days around the corner.

This change of seasons is also the closing of NaNoWriMo.  These last few days of spring will be full of furious typing by tens of thousands of writers around the globe.  And if all goes well, sometime in the next year or so, there will be some new novels born from this month of literary abandonment that we all can enjoy.

I am one of those typing manically to try and achieve my goal (50,000 words by the 30th of November).  And in between I’m looking at my garden growing wild with my neglect, and wondering if I’ve done enough to prepare it for the sun-filled months ahead.  Only six more days and I can play in the dirt again!

While life beckons me to come back and enjoy it’s richness, I am happy to have had NaNo to push me to write every day (almost) and to find my way past any plot walls.  Without it, when you get to that point where you don’t know what comes next, it’s so easy to put it aside for another time.  NaNoWriMo gives you the urgency to think it through, to try other avenues you may not have envisioned at first.  It has been a wonderful experience, and I will try it again.

I still have thousands of words, and many chapters to go and less than a week to get there.  So it is back into the wilds of my imagination for me!  And I wonder what I can make with the plums this year…

                        

One Response to “NaNo wind down”

  1. Writing Jobs November 24, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    – Writers Wanted –

Leave a Reply

